Thiruvalla: The Local Self-Government Department Minister M.B. Rajesh said. As the pilgrims come from different parts of the country, the local administrations and the Sanitation Mission should work together to carry out efficient operations in terms of waste disposal and sanitation. The minister was speaking at the district level review meeting of Nava Kerala Indigenization 2.0 held at Tiruvalla Govt Employesco-Operative Bank Auditorium.

Waste source management and door step collection should be implemented efficiently in the district as part of complete sanitation. People’s representatives should be directly involved in awareness programs to achieve the goal of a fully clean district.

Micro-plans should be prepared and implemented for each extremely poor family on the basis of local self-government bodies. Emergency needs such as medical aid and food should be ensured. People’s representatives should take initiative for this. Camps should be organized urgently to provide basic rights documents like Aadhaar, Ration Card and Election ID to the very poor. The goal of providing door-to-door services to all the deserving should be achieved by January, said the minister.

Temporary appointments should be made on contractual basis to avoid delays in project implementation in local self-government bodies due to insufficient staff. Local self-government bodies should seriously consider increasing their own revenue rather than relying solely on development using project funds.

District Panchayat President Adv. Omallur Sankaran presided. Local Self-Government Department Joint Director N. Hari presented the report. The Minister released the logo of the ‘Malam Bhootam’ campaign under the auspices of the District Sanitation Mission. Thumbamon Gram Panchayat Secretary R. Srilekha and Iraviperur Gram Panchayat Secretary Suja Kumari were presented with awards by the Minister for Omallur, Pallikal and Ranni Pazhavangadi Gram Panchayats for their outstanding performance in ILGMS activities in the district. Philip Mathew, Abraham Punnoos, Joseph Varghese and Annamma Varghese who donated land in the Manasotithiri Soil Project were honoured. The minister gave certificates to the beneficiaries, Leelamma and Gracie, who got the land.

District Collector Dr. Divya S. Iyer, Pathanamthitta Municipality Chairman Adv. T. Zakir Hussain, Thiruvalla Municipality Chairperson Shanthamma Varghese, Zilla Panchayat Vice President Sara Thomas, Gram Panchayat Presidents Association District President P.S. Mohanan, Block Panchayat Presidents Association District President R. Tulaseedharan Pillai, Omallurgrama Panchayat President Adv. Johnson Valavinal, Enadimangalam Gram Panchayat President Rajagopal, Urban Planning Joint Director Harikumar, Rural Development Department Joint Development Commissioner C.S. Latika, block and gram panchayat presidents, secretaries, department level officials etc. participated.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here